UN Security Council passes resolution creating South Sudan Sanctions Committee

On 3 March 2015, the United Nations Security Council unanimously adopted a resolution establishing a sanctions regime against South Sudan.

The resolution sets up a sanctions committee, comprising the 15 members of the Security Council, that will identify and blacklist anyone undermining security or interfering with the peace process after Thursday and April 1 deadlines set by the regional East African IGAD bloc.

The resolution instructs all UN Member States, for an initial period of one year to:
1. take necessary measures to prevent entry into or transit through their territories by designated individuals; and
2. freeze all funds, financial assets, and economic resources within their territories owned or controlled by designated individuals.

It will be the committee’s responsibility to consider any exemptions regarding the travel bans and asset freezes imposed on people under the new sanctions regime.

The resolution is at:


Would you like to stay updated and receive our newsletters and legal alerts?

Please subscribe below and we will add you to our mailing list.