EU imposes new sanctions against North Korea

On 16 October 2017, the European Union (“EU“) imposed new sanctions on North Korea under Council Regulation (EU) 2017/1858. The new restrictive measures under the EU North Korea sanctions regime, include a further ban on EU investments in and with North Korea to all sectors, decreasing the amount of personal remittances that can be sent to North Korea from EUR15,000 to EUR5,000, and imposing a further prohibition on the export of oil to the country. The EU also adopted Council Regulation (EU) 2017/1859, adding three persons and six entities to the list of individuals and entities who are subject to an aeest freeze and travel restrictions, under the EU North Korea sanctions regime.

Council Regulation (EU) 2017/1858 can be found here and Council Regulation (EU) 2017/1859 can be found here.

Would you like to stay updated and receive our newsletters and legal alerts?

Please subscribe below and we will add you to our mailing list.